With a heavy heart…

It’s with a very heavy heart that I have to announce that The Yoga Mat has lost our lease effective December 30th. On February 4th, 2015 we would have celebrated our 5 year anniversary and it’s without a doubt the happiest 5 years of my life. Through the course of opening the studio, I have gotten to know so many wonderful, supportive and uniquely passionate people. They’ve witnessed The Yoga Mat evolve from a studio based out of our living room on 22nd and Market St. to a quaint studio with 18 mats on 32nd and Larimer. They’ve watched as The Yoga Mat learned how to be a business and was there as I went through numerous personal life changes from finding my bearings in a new city after leaving NY, getting engaged and married to Jared, buying our first house, and having our first baby. To say that this community of people feels like my family, is an understatement. 

The last few months have been incredibly hard on us as we found out that the building that The Yoga Mat calls home was sold and we were in need of quickly finding a new space. Since September, I’ve carried my baby all over Denver looking for a place that would keep our students happy and practicing together. The market is crazy and the River North area is booming. We went through countless scenarios, neighborhoods, negotiations, floor plans, backup plans and sadly we’ve found ourselves without a home. 

I want to thank our regulars and teachers, you have been by us and supported this local business from the start. We couldn’t supply hot towels, branded water bottles or provide the newest hybrid yoga classes; but, we could give you attentive down-to-earth, teachers who wanted to be there, teaching you yoga. The community we created was different from anything I’ve ever been a part of, unexplainable to those that didn’t get to witness it.

I also want to thank my family, particularly my parents and my husband because without them I wouldn’t have taken the leap into this business. These people were our marketing and event planning team, our website developers, and our investors. I am so lucky to have such a dedicated in-house staff that always encourage me to keep going even when times are tough.

Logistically, I have already canceled all monthly memberships. They have been pro-rated for each individual billing date so you will only be paying for classes through the end of December. Students with class packages will still have til the end of the month to use their remaining classes. I recommend booking your classes early to save your place. I’m also talking to a neighboring local studio about possibly taking over any unused classes in hopes that everyone can still make it to the mat and use what they have purchased. If you have an unused Groupon, please contact Groupon directly for a refund. Of course if you have questions please don’t hesitate to email me at ontheyogamat@gmail.com.

I’m beyond sad writing this letter but incredibly thankful my life is full of these friendships I found while teaching at The Yoga Mat. I will continue to look for a new home for us in hopes that we can pick up where we left off. Thanks for the unwavering support and the love as we grew, I genuinely hope I find myself unrolling my mat next to you in the very near future. 

With love, 

Erin, Jared, Juna, and Gibbs Hardy

P.S. Please join us for our Farewell Class on Tuesday, December 30th from 6pm – 7:30pm. Please sign up in advance on MindBodyOnline as we’re hoping to pack the house with our yoga family.

Leave a Reply

