November Student of the Month: Jessica Chance

Congrats to our great student, friend and neighbor, Jessica Chance on becoming the November Student of the Month! Jess has been coming to our studio since we moved to our new space on Larimer 1.5 years ago.  Her dedication to her practice along with her endearing and positive attitude makes her an amazing edition to any class. I love her motivation to try new things and respect her mindfulness in her practice. A very special congrats to this great lady! Keep up the amazing work!

JESSICA’S STORY

     “When The Yoga Mat opened up across the street from my apartment in 2011, I didn’t think much of it. One day, my husband asked me teasingly, if I was ever going to go to yoga class.  My response, “I don’t do yoga.”
     A couple of weeks later, I decided to give it a go after all. I was nervous because I had no clue what to expect, and also because I had dislocated my shoulder a few months beforehand, and I was scared of re-injuring it. But I signed up for two weeks of unlimited classes anyway, (for $20!) and gave it a whirl. I left the first class feeling amazing, and exhausted. I went the next day, and the next, eventually e-mailing one of the teachers to ask if it was possible to do, “too much” yoga. I was assured it shouldn’t be a problem. I attended every day that week, even going twice in one day the following week. I’ve been a monthly member since.
     I continue to go to yoga every day that my schedule allows (2-5 times a week, when I’m in town).  I often start my day signing up for an evening class… I own my own business, and having the “reward” of class at the end of the day motivates me to be more efficient and productive in my work.  I turned 30 this year, and I have never felt more in shape,  flexible, and comfortable in my skin than I do today. My shoulder is healed and strong.
     I haven’t stepped foot in a gym since that first class, and I don’t feel I need to. I have however, picked up running again, and was shocked to complete three miles with ease after a year of not running a single step. There’s no way I could have accomplished that happily without the strength, awareness and breath that a regular practice brings to my life.
     I’m grateful to Erin and all of the teachers at The Yoga Mat for all that they have taught me about yoga, life, and myself. Namaste!”
— Jessica Chance

Want to become our next student of the month?

To be in the running we have to see you in class 10+ times the month before. You receive your photo and yoga quote on our blog and Facebook pages, $5 off the next yoga package of your choice and your yoga practice will improve by showing up on your mat!

Leave a Reply

