The Yoga Mat Turns 1

Tomorrow (Thursday, February 10th) marks The Yoga Mat’s 1st birthday, which makes me feel like a giddy mom that wants to fill my days with scrap booking pictures of my dedicated yogis and their first down dogs. While reminiscing about the past year, it’s amazing to see how far we’ve come…students going from wobbly Warrior One’s to taking giant first steps into Handstands.

Our cozy studio has seen a lot in the 365 days we’ve been open.  And like a new baby, The Yoga Mat has made this one of the craziest, most expensive, and happiest times of my life. Days filled with comfy yoga clothes and nights filled with dreams of Ardha Chandrasana variations, this year has been the furthest thing from predictable.

From the time I decided to open the studio, I’ve been surrounded by people who were loving and supportive, but I couldn’t help having self-doubts and wondering what all “expecting” new small business parents wonder… how do you know when you’re ready?

After taking the leap, I yogi-proofed the new studio filling it with props, aromatherapy, and waivers. Slowly, steadily, I got used to my new routine, opening the doors to our studio for Denverites that were passionate about learning and doing yoga. And now, looking back, I can’t believe how fast time has gone by. It’s been a crazy year full of making friends, learning lessons, taking risks, planning, organizing, teaching over 650 classes, and the occasional “breakdown”. I’ve had to learn how to ask for help when I need it, how to be patient, how to stop talking non-stop about yoga at cocktail parties, and learn when Lululemon pants aren’t appropriate (even though, to me, they always are!).

I started The Yoga Mat unsure if people would unroll their mats with us and by the end of our first year, I’m thankful for the endless support from our regulars, the curiosity of our beginners, and the making of a small, amazing community. It has been a great first year and I’m excited to report that I doubt the “terrible two’s” will be that terrible…so far the future looks great.

4 responses to “The Yoga Mat Turns 1

  1. Happy Birthday! I am so glad that I found you! Being new to both Denver and Yoga, I have really appreciated your heartfelt dedication to your practice and your personal attention to your clients. It is obvious that you love what you do. Without a doubt, your second birthday will be better than your first.

  2. Happy Birthday! It’s been a pleasure witnessing that first year of growth and being even a small part of it. You have been an amazing and nurturing “parent” . Thank you for your guidance and enthusiasm. May the second year of life be filled with more abundance.

  3. We are passionate about yoga because you are the most amazing yoga instructor. You make yoga accessible and inclusive – no scary “I’m not doing it right” moments. I feel so blessed to have met you and love your studio. It is not like any other studio I have visited. And btw, you can wear lululemon pants anywhere!!!!

Leave a Reply

