Ready to run…

I noticed that I write a lot about time on this blog. It can consume me; even paralyze me from acting at all. Which is a completely ridiculous thought.

I’m in the process of looking for a new job and trying to open my own yoga studio in the vague future. I know I want it. I know I could do it, but it’s damn scary to move.

I’m really curious where the vivacious, overly enthusiastic kid from 1986 went.

At what point did I stop being incredibly excited about the things that seemed so unobtainable? When did I evolve from idealistic and empowered to realistic and overwhelmed?

I used to write letters to the St. Louis Zoo asking them to uncage their animals.

I tried out for the part of Dorothy of the Wizard of Oz at the age of 5 (even though the role of the munchkin would have been much more fitting).

I told my mom I would never live in the same city I was born in when we visited Chicago for the first time.

And when I packed up my things to move to NY alone I felt more secure and inspired by the city, knowing exactly what I wanted and how I was planning on getting there.

Fast-forward 4 years, I’m loving my life but realizing somewhere along the line I lost my drive to be the first, the best, or the most steadfast. I never thought I’d be 26 and working a job to merely “pay the bills.”

So today I’m making a list. I’m tapping into the Erin from 1986 and figuring out what it is that I really want from my career because clearly it’s not showing up on my doorstep marked Urgent.

Webster’s dictionary describes opportunity as:

1: a favorable juncture of circumstances

2: a good chance for advancement or progress

A “favorable juncture of circumstances”? I realize I have been haphazard in my attempt to create the future I envisioned for myself but I am making it a priority and starting a new timeline. I’m starting at 0…I can only go up from here and that is damn exciting.

2 responses to “Ready to run…

  1. “A favorable juncture of circumstances.”

    I like this. Go for it.

  2. This is my favorite post Erna.
    I love you tremendously and know your studio will flourish with such a phenomenal owner.

Leave a Reply

