Date Night

Summer FunI can feel a yoga rut coming on and I’ve decided to be proactive about it. The thing is, my NY practice was constantly being stimulated with incredible teachers, workshops, new spiritual ideas, and practitioners to collaborate with. Now that I’m in Boulder, and pretty broke, I have to take my Manhattan-ized  (fast, aggressive and sometimes too pushy) practice down a notch and practice alone in my living room. Of course most of my friends often say “well since you’re a teacher you really don’t need to go to class…just do it at home…for free.” Sounds like a great idea but I am craving some new inspiration. Poses I never think to add to my own sequences, a visualization I could never come up with and even feeling the unity of the classroom. 

So lets call it what it is, maybe a little name-calling is in order, then I can leave my standard practice at the door and take a much-needed walk around the block to cool down. I am officially dating my yoga practice. We have a beautiful love/hate relationship that not everyone can understand but somehow I’m always excited to get back to my mat even after a few failed inversions. My practice can challenge me on a daily basis, handing me poses that I doubt I can do or that I fear doing. It can be incredibly scary trusting that my practice is leading me down the right road. Jealousy can creep up when you see someone else in “the perfect pose” but you try to tell yourself that “all is coming.”  But in all honesty if I had to take my yoga practice to couples counseling I think my biggest question would be “how do you keep such a long-lasting relationship interesting? Will it ultimately lose its steam? Can we break out of our routine  and make it something fun again?” 

The definition of a routine is “a set of customary and often mechanically performed procedures or activities.” Mechanically? I don’t ever want the word mechanically to describe me or what I do, especially my relationship. I’m tired of sun salutes always followed by externally rotated poses and then neutral…I need some spice in this relationship. No more Warrior 2 flowing into Reverse Warrior into Trikonasana. Enough is enough. 

So today is the day. I’m going to tell my yoga practice that “we need to talk” no more of this “it’s me, not you” lines. We need to get down to the nitty-gritty.

What am I looking for out of this relationship? Physical, spiritual, centering? But why can’t it be all 3, I don’t want to limit myself or my practice. I think I need to stop making excuses and take my practice on a spontaneous date. I might pull out some new poses that I never try on my own. My practice will undoubtedly be impressed with my extra effort and my willingness to try. No more yoga equivalents of a movie night, I will woo my practice back into what it was before I left the city. Because when it’s all said and done my yoga practice is worth it. And like the great American writer, Paul Auster said “Failure is measured by the number of routines you have” and I won’t let that happen to us.

One response to “Date Night

  1. Love it! This is sooo true “I’m tired of sun salutes always followed by externally rotated poses and then neutral…I need some spice in this relationship. No more Warrior 2 flowing into Reverse Warrior into Trikonasana. Enough is enough. ” You took the words right out of my mouth!

Leave a Reply

