Sweat It Out

nm_sweat_070823_msLast week I took a class at Yoga Pod. The studio was really refreshing, clean, clutter free, allowing enough space for students to drop all of their mental and emotional baggage at the door. As I collected my mat and props I opened the studio door and was engulfed by thick, overwhelming hot air.

How did I just buy a 2 week pass for a studio that practices hot yoga?

I was lethargic about the idea to say the least. 

I decided to get rid of my judgement, roll out my mat and sweat it out. The next 75 minutes were intense.  Everything was covered in sweat…even my kneecaps.

The teacher, Andrew Gowans, was great. His instructions were incredibly clear, he rarely used Sanskrit, consistently reminding his student that’s it’s about the journey…not the destination. He was the most accessible teacher I have ever practiced with. The studio itself was lined with mirrors allowing students to get caught up in their physical practice but he was always there to reflect back to us that’s it more about feeling the movements from the inside out. He truly had created a space, practice, and demeanor that let us flow pose to pose without judgement. 

Finally, in Savasana(corpse pose) I laid there feeling my body buzzing. I could feel the blood pumping through my body, desperately trying to bring me back to homeostasis. I was exhausted and exhilarated at the same time. I laid on my sweaty mat, thankful that I could get up and leave all of my doubts, fears and misconceptions in a puddle of sweat on the floor. I tried something new, my body had been fully restored and rung out to dry and it felt good.

Leave a Reply

