The Road Less Traveled

IMG_0297I’m officially in Boulder! It has been a crazy couple of weeks but everything has somehow come together. I am in a great apartment, just big enough for me and my mat, I can see the mountains from my front porch, I have friends and friends of friends coming out of the woodwork to make me feel more comfortable in my new “home.” I am completely excited about the potential for change.

Part of me wonders if I just like the thrill of the unknown since I’ve moved 2 times in the past 3 years to NY and now Boulder without knowing hardly anyone and without a job. Maybe I’m destined for a life as a nomad. But somehow this move feels different then the first. There was a weird feeling of impermanence while I lived in New York…don’t buy a dog til I move out of the city, not worth working on home improvement projects because I probably won’t be in that apartment much longer, exhausted just thinking about making new friends because we’ll all work way too much and see each other too little to really have any meaningful long lasting friendship, etc. I was living my life on pause…

Maybe it was hard to look at the moment for what it was and like they say hindsight is always 20/20, but I am excited to look at my day-to-day life in a whole new way. I am here now and it feels good. I may get a dog, I might venture to Home Depot for my next “self/home improvement” and I’m ready to meet new people and see where they take me. Because as Robert Frost put it…

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
2 responses to “The Road Less Traveled

  1. whoo-hoo! lets do dinner.

  2. Erin, I love this posting. I am so proud of you and I hope you are enjoying your new journey. We miss you! Stay in touch
    -Alana

Leave a Reply

