Inhale and Exhale…

My life is changing and drastically. I’m leaving New York City and dealing with some personal issues that have really made me question everything…even my blog.

So far I’ve used this platform to bring you interesting yoga related stories, but I have found something much more compelling than a report from CNBC explaining how yoga decreases your risks of heart disease…the story of me…right now.

Currently I am going through a horrible break up and moving my life closer to my family. Everything that is normal is now very different. I have left my great job, my tiny Brooklyn apartment, made peace with realizing I don’t own anything in it, and have to move on whether I’m ready or not. And even though it feels like I HAVE nothing and that I’m barely making it through the day I know that I have my yoga practice. I can practice anywhere and I don’t need anything. It gives me something to look forward to, it gives me “me” time, it quiets all my self doubt and worrying for awhile, and I am reminded everyday why I have made yoga such a large part of my life. I’m finding comfort in my mat, in the familiar poses and the slow but steady progress. Part of me can’t help but think that somehow I got into yoga knowing that this moment was coming and I was preparing my practice for it.

So I know this blog has taken a turn towards personal…and I’m ok with that. I want to share why yoga makes me happy and how it has effected my life on a daily basis.

Recently I took class from Joy Gottlieb and she said, “Inhale something you need…Exhale something you can get rid of and can’t carry anymore.”

And that’s where I’m at. One breath at a time, one blog post at a time. Just time.

Sincerely,

Erin

Leave a Reply

